Above:   The PNT follows along the shores of the Pacific coast in Olympic National Park. Photo by Tyler Yates. All Rights Reserved.

Long-distance hiking and riding on the PNT

For most of its existence, as few as five or ten were bold and experienced enough to tackle a Crown-to-Coast adventure on the Pacific Northwest Trail each year.

Long distance trail lovers will recognize that these numbers are relatively low. End-to-end treks “against the grain” of the rugged northwest topography of the Pacific Northwest Trail represent a rare accomplishment – historically, less than half of all attempts to complete the entire PNT in a single season have been successful.

To publicly honor the achievement of these hardy men and women, the PNTA has created an official list of those who completed all 1,200 miles of the Pacific Northwest Trail. We acknowledge that this preliminary list may be far from complete and encourage PNT end-to-enders to submit a 1,200 Miler Form or to contact us.

The special passion 1,200 Milers hold for the Pacific Northwest Trail helps to ensure its legacy; the personal stories long-distance hikers share about the struggles and rewards of the trail are what draw others to experience the PNT and the beautiful landscapes and historic main streets of the Northwest.

In 1977, Ron Strickland began tracking the first exploratory thru-hikes on the PNT, but over the last forty years, many finishers’ accomplishments have been lost to history—until now.

Official List of 1,200 Milers, 1977 to Present

Thru-hikes of the Pacific Northwest National Scenic Trail, 2020 - present

End-to-end treks of the Pacific Northwest National Scenic Trail after congressional designation
Year Finished Name Trail Name
2020 Sean Auclair
2020 Marcella Branniff Starboard
2020 Tommy Brettschneider Famished
2020 Ryan Carpenter Green Tortuga
2020 William Egan Backtrack
2020 Taylor Jacklin Bug
2020 Jay Janvrin Wook
2020 Ryan Johnstone
2020 Emma Kahle
2020 Kyle Kretschmer Van Gogh
2020 Mary Levengood Frito
2020 Lea Lin Acorn
2020 Jessica Luty Petra
2020 Anthony Mannello Cruise
2020 Jill Russell Port
2020 Alison Shovlain
2020 Joseph Smith Beta
2020 Emily Steffke Battle Wounds
2021 Chloe Braedt Garden
2021 Alex Brettmann Goober
2021 Christopher Burke
2021 Sadie Curry Sketchy
2021 Rachel Duncan SKWYRM
2021 Rebekah Eaton Micro
2021 Kathleen Egan Tatopani
2021 Susan P. Ferguson Pica
2021 John Fiddler Bistari
2021 Steven Foncree Tennesteve
2021 Cameron Fones Wingfoot
2021 Nick Fowler Road Runner
2021 Patrick French Dosu Kinuta
2021 Travis Fried Nooch
2021 Brennan Gelhar Beans
2021 Hadyn Gunter Chilly
2021 Kevin Heitman Death Wish
2021 Pamela Hershberger Cookie
2021 Richard Hershberger Tic Toc
2021 Nicole Kulovitz ShotGun
2021 Jacob Krynock Napoleon
2021 Melissa Leahy Athena
2021 Evan Leonard Couscous
2021 Drew Murphy Swat
2021 Aloe Nelson Flower
2021 Charles Noe Lucky Man
2021 Bradley Pazian Sparky
2021 John Penland BTeam
2021 Scott Peterson Princess
2021 Kelsey Rae Porter Hot Sauce
2021 Blake Robinson DELUXE
2021 Sean Rutherford Encore
2021 Shawn Sobel Type II
2021 Natasha Volkmann Poppy
2021 Sloan Woodward Twentyone
2022 Tim Beissinger Tik
2022 Scott Bingham Iceman
2022 Taylor Cole Karaoke
2022 Jesse Funk
2022 Leah Harman Twig
2022 Karolin Kirn The OG
2022 Katie Martin Honey
2022 Marc Mauger Purple
2022 Carlos Miera
2022 Renee L Miller Tok
2022 Daniel Munsell Chopsticks
2022 Alex Norris Showco
2022 Keegan O’Rourke Poundcake
2022 Shane Pitman Goofy
2022 Andrew Pritchett Grit
2022 Jerry Retzlaff #2
2022 Kassie Rice Lucky Duck
2022 Matt Robins Salty
2022 William Stevenson Shaggy
2022 Parker Sutton Moon
2022 J. Bacchus Taylor Bacchus
2022 Mathias Vetter Type 2
2022 Heather Werderman Steady
2023 Olivier Blake Fastball
2023 Chris Capurso Rocky
2023 Emese Corbet Dutchie
2023 Benjamin Hinnen The Sheriff
2023 Susan Hornbuckle Cashmere
2023 Kiernan Huggins Kickback
2023 Eric Koegler Sunshine
2023 Jennifer Logan
2023 John Logan
2023 Kyra Long Kite
2023 Alena Mahlejova Hummingbird
2023 Miranda Pridgen Bopit
2023 Nathan Richards Grinna
2023 Gabe Ryan
2023 Marie Šnajdrová Backflop
2023 Timothy Spanding Twister
2023 Matthew Swenson